Return to Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) documents the statutory requirement for young children’s development and learning, and outlines the knowledge, skills and understanding children should have acquired at the end of their Reception school year.

There are seven areas of learning and development:

Prime Areas which children need to access other learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas provide opportunities for children to strengthen and apply the Prime Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Our 5 Ways to Wow! Curriculum is underpinned by the EYFS, and has been designed to ensure it incorporates the seven areas of learning from the EYFS, as well as placing great emphasis on children being able to develop their characteristics of effective learning.  If children achieve our outcomes, they will be well placed to start Reception, and complete their EYFS learning journey.